Another PSQT tuning round
authorJoona Kiiski <joona.kiiski@gmail.com>
Wed, 17 Mar 2010 06:32:26 +0000 (08:32 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Tue, 29 Jun 2010 17:52:51 +0000 (18:52 +0100)
commitb24a2dfc728039a8baad47f23d8e793d61b5b8d5
tree877c63e16adc5827e7dc9023d5e7fadbb732d0b2
parent4d170725ab0ea2d219ff402495a1c541e7f75d6c
Another PSQT tuning round

This time with a new algorithm by Joona.

It works basically like this:

repeat
{
   1) pick 8000 random positions from qsearch
   2) "go depth 8" to get the true evaluation.
   3) "eval" to get the stand pat score
   4) Adjusting parameters one by one to minimize deltasum between
true evaluation and stand  pat scores.
}

* Good news: method seems to converge
* Bad news: Point where it converges is not optimum.

So it's more or less trial and error... sometimes works, sometimes
doesn't. It can give you the right direction, but if you let it run
too long, it fails. Far from scientific ;)

After 14800 games with 5s/game
Orig - Mod: 3318 - 3570 - 7626 (+6 elo)

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/psqtab.h