Introduce tropism measure in king danger
authorStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sun, 29 Jul 2018 23:41:04 +0000 (01:41 +0200)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Mon, 30 Jul 2018 06:26:48 +0000 (08:26 +0200)
commitba2a2c34bb3098648d6f772a4b26d84d761afe2e
tree9930af666907f9e7926e1659388a5f405c09e2f1
parentc08e05b494d54c7fc28621204382d77d3595d436
Introduce tropism measure in king danger

This patch adds the tropism measure as a new term in the king danger variable.
Since we then trasform this variable as a Score via a quadratic formula, the
main effect of the patch is the positive correlation of the tropism measure
with some checks and pins information already present in the king danger code.

STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 6805 W: 1597 L: 1431 D: 3777
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b5df8d10ebc5902bdb91699

LTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 32872 W: 5782 L: 5523 D: 21567
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b5e08d80ebc5902bdb917ee

How to continue from there?

• it may be possible to use CloseEnemies=S(7,0)
• we may want to try incorporating other strategic features in the quadratic
  king danger.

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1717

Bench: 5591925
src/evaluate.cpp