Include all blockers in king danger
authormstembera <MissingEmail@email>
Thu, 10 May 2018 20:49:56 +0000 (13:49 -0700)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Thu, 10 May 2018 21:36:16 +0000 (23:36 +0200)
commitc163c2fcb0bf6fbb2c41b1399e7928cb76cd6118
tree6afe5411011f8c11d4896eaa12b55023db42c740
parent255df4ffae29f4a038c9881c1f2f675e2f21f71e
Include all blockers in king danger

Simplification: in king danger, include all blockers and not only pinned
pieces, since blockers enemy pieces can result in discovered checks which
are also bad.

STC  http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5af35f9f0ebc5968e6523fe9
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 145781 W: 29368 L: 29478 D: 86935

LTC http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5af3cb430ebc5968e652401f
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 76398 W: 11272 L: 11232 D: 53894

I also incorrectly scheduled STC with [0,5] which it failed.
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5af283c00ebc5968e6523f33
LLR: -2.94 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,5.00]
Total: 12338 W: 2451 L: 2522 D: 7365

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1593

bench: 4698290

----------------------------------------

Thanks to @vondele and @Rocky640 for a cleaner version of the patch,
and the following comments!

> Most of the pinned, (or for this pull request, blocking) squares were
> already computed in the unsafeChecks, the only missing squares being:
>
> a) squares attacked by a Queen which are occupied by friendly piece
>    or "unsafe". Note that adding such squares never passed SPRT[0,5].
>
> b) squares not in mobilityArea[Us].
>
> There is a strong relationship between the blockers and the unsafeChecks,
> but the bitboard unsafeChecks is still useful when the checker is not
> aligned with the king, and the checking square is occupied by friendly
> piece or is "unsafe". This is always the case for the Knight.
src/evaluate.cpp