Simplify skill level and reduce ELO
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 25 Jan 2015 18:22:43 +0000 (19:22 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Thu, 29 Jan 2015 21:35:24 +0000 (22:35 +0100)
commitce0a95c2c013f4aa9d41a80b8f12f005fe162fcb
tree142c40629b3664211e2d3903ec3f9f0114eae00e
parent8aa8608c2a30acc56c4bb4467309cef5089fb2bd
Simplify skill level and reduce ELO

This patch has two positive effects:

- Retire a hackish formula and leave
  just a natural, simple and plain one.

- Reduce strenght at very low level, but
  don't impact medium/high levels.

Actually even at level 0, SF is still too
strong for many beginners (this was reported
many times for instance on Droidfish user
comments on Google Play).

Test on fishtest shows that ELO drop is around
170 ELO at level 0 (good!), 130 ELO at level 1
and smoothly reduces (as expected) until level
10 where the drop is just of 8 ELO.

No functional change.
src/search.cpp