Razor again at depth one
authorJoona Kiiski <joona.kiiski@gmail.com>
Thu, 9 Apr 2009 04:29:13 +0000 (07:29 +0300)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 26 Apr 2009 12:51:50 +0000 (13:51 +0100)
commitd20e0cf048c7e901f422f61259cd2fbfdba0b209
tree7714fc4f5cdd6c31997ddf95ac6c678bbde3aaad
parent342ceb1c9124ced53650d6c422a8cfa32e0b12ef
Razor again at depth one
Some time ago it was found by Marco Costalba that it's better
to disable razoring at depth one, because given the very low
evaluation of the node, futility pruning would already do
the job at very low cost and avoiding missing important moves.

Now enable razoring there again, but only when our quickly evaluated
material advantage is more than a rook. The idea is to try razoring
only when it's extremely likely that it will succeed.

Extreme lightning speed test show promising result:
Orig - Mod: +1285 =1495 -1348

This needs to be tested with longer time controls though.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp