Give bonus for rooks that are alligned with enemy kingring
authorVizvezdenec <Vizvezdenec@gmail.com>
Mon, 25 May 2020 18:14:07 +0000 (21:14 +0300)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Mon, 25 May 2020 20:18:56 +0000 (22:18 +0200)
commitd40d04c17ceadff6f15d1cb1d4d469f823a35a02
tree59d1d88dcc641848726d3c24b6b0c0cc004a27db
parent7f2c8a2b81af19033a62845408b7ae19ed513053
Give bonus for rooks that are alligned with enemy kingring

The idea of this patch is that if rooks are not directly attacking the opponent king,
they can support king attacks staying behind pawns or minor pieces and be really
deadly if position slightly opens up at enemy king ring ranks. Loosely based on
some stockfish games where it underestimated attacks on it king when enemy has one
or two rooks supporting pawn pushes towards it king.

passed STC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ecb093680f2c838b96550f9
LLR: 2.93 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.50,1.50}
Total: 53672 W: 10535 L: 10265 D: 32872
Ptnml(0-2): 952, 6210, 12258, 6448, 968

passed LTC
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5ecb639f80f2c838b9655117
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.75}
Total: 62424 W: 8094 L: 7748 D: 46582
Ptnml(0-2): 426, 5734, 18565, 6042, 445

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2700

Bench: 4663220
src/evaluate.cpp