Add support for Windows large pages
authorSami Kiminki <skiminki@users.noreply.github.com>
Mon, 4 May 2020 17:49:27 +0000 (20:49 +0300)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Wed, 13 May 2020 18:57:47 +0000 (20:57 +0200)
commitd4763424d2728fe2dfd0a6fe747666feb6a2fdbb
tree8909a512b66fcec4960bc81fc8be6a466900b765
parent86ee4eb84d54dac3f9de5b455ba41909c7722173
Add support for Windows large pages

for users that set the needed privilige "Lock Pages in Memory"
large pages will be automatically enabled (see Readme.md).

This expert setting might improve speed, 5% - 30%, depending
on the hardware, the number of threads and hash size. More for
large hashes, large number of threads and NUMA. If the operating
system can not allocate large pages (easier after a reboot), default
allocation is used automatically. The engine log provides details.

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2656

fixes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/issues/2619

No functional change
Readme.md
src/main.cpp
src/misc.cpp
src/misc.h
src/tt.cpp