Remove custom mutex implementation
authorJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Mon, 16 Sep 2019 05:51:25 +0000 (07:51 +0200)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Thu, 26 Sep 2019 22:16:49 +0000 (00:16 +0200)
commitd703d2b5e760edf4d34b6664f2d0552ffe424b12
tree79bb447613971532255c7cb97e877f57f1704977
parent8726beba59ca10d03cfee5073e4ac51da7cae42a
Remove custom mutex implementation

As part of the investigation of the hang caused by an incorrect implementation
of condition_variable in libwinpthread, it was realized that our custom Mutex
implementation is no longer needed. Prior to lazySMP this custom implementation
resulted in a 30% speedup, but now no speed difference can be measured as no
mutex is used on the hot path in lazySMP.

https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/issues/2291
https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/issues/2309#issuecomment-533733393  https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/issues/2309#issuecomment-533737515

The interest of this patch is that it removes platform-specific code, which is
always less tested.

No functional change.
src/misc.cpp
src/syzygy/tbprobe.cpp
src/thread.cpp
src/thread.h
src/thread_win32_osx.h