Remove Some Bitboard Arrays (#1963)
authorprotonspring <mike@whiteley.org>
Fri, 8 Feb 2019 08:54:38 +0000 (01:54 -0700)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@users.noreply.github.com>
Fri, 8 Feb 2019 08:54:38 +0000 (09:54 +0100)
commitdd4796fcd5559847d4b8aab7d21ffff9929799ce
tree7f7922fb61a88701255305cde8543f30c075df3f
parent651450023619ddea590f301f040286151004df66
Remove Some Bitboard Arrays (#1963)

This is non-functional. These 5 arrays are simple enough to calculate real-time and maintaining an array for them does not help. Decreases the memory footprint.

This seems a tiny bit slower on my machine, but passed STC well enough. Could someone verify speed?

STC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 44745 W: 9780 L: 9704 D: 25261
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5c47aa2d0ebc5902bca13fc4

The slowdown is minimal even in 32 bit case (thanks to @mstembera for testing):

Compiled using make build ARCH=x86-32 CXX=i686-w64-mingw32-c++ and benched
This patch only:

```
Results for 40 tests for each version:

            Base      Test      Diff
    Mean    1455204   1450033   5171
    StDev   49452     34533     59621

p-value: 0.465
speedup: -0.004
```

No functional change.
src/bitboard.cpp
src/bitboard.h