Remove the Contempt UCI option
authorStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Wed, 16 Jun 2021 05:23:26 +0000 (07:23 +0200)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Mon, 21 Jun 2021 20:58:56 +0000 (22:58 +0200)
commited436a36bade82422753f8be9c16d790232e9c91
tree1298085ad28c8d01c9a1e42e2d9c98c2f613c46f
parent70ac5ecbb62b68382073b2367644945c1327ddfc
Remove the Contempt UCI option

This patch removes the UCI option for setting Contempt in classical evaluation.

It is exactly equivalent to using Contempt=0 for the UCI contempt value and keeping
the dynamic part in the algo (renaming this dynamic part `trend` to better describe
what it does). We have tried quite hard to implement a working Contempt feature for
NNUE but nothing really worked, so it is probably time to give up.

Interested chess fans wishing to keep playing with the UCI option for Contempt and
use it with the classical eval are urged to download the version tagged "SF_Classical"
of Stockfish (dated 31 July 2020), as it was the last version where our search
algorithm was tuned for the classical eval and is probably our strongest classical
player ever: https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/tags

Passed STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) <-2.50,0.50>
Total: 72904 W: 6228 L: 6175 D: 60501
Ptnml(0-2): 221, 5006, 25971, 5007, 247
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/60c98bf9457376eb8bcab18d

Passed LTC:
LLR: 2.93 (-2.94,2.94) <-2.50,0.50>
Total: 45168 W: 1601 L: 1547 D: 42020
Ptnml(0-2): 38, 1331, 19786, 1397, 32
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/60c9c7fa457376eb8bcab1bb

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3575

Bench: 4947716
README.md
src/evaluate.cpp
src/search.cpp
src/thread.h
src/ucioption.cpp