Revert so called "fromNull patch"
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 6 Jan 2013 21:55:35 +0000 (22:55 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 6 Jan 2013 22:06:20 +0000 (23:06 +0100)
commitedce2a8448c086a8ea2b24db7511fdc7ffe9de94
tree5d8e5d5ed22774ea3b8e0a9a9aecda7f827ff6a4
parent9b1cf3cf4360278f5485db6ba81c2cfeae746bd7
Revert so called "fromNull patch"

Revert patch c581b7ea3627482

Seems a regression after testing from Gary:
ELO: 7.24 +- 99%: 17.03 95%: 12.93
LOS: 97.86%
Wins: 439 Losses: 381 Draws: 1962

And mine:
After 5410 games at 15"+0.05
Wins: 936 Losses: 1141 Draws: 3333  ELO -13

Moreover we know that there is a regression in the range
of patches which include the fromNull patch.

Probably this is not the only regression since 2.3.1 and
perhaps the idea under fromNull is good, but at the moment,
while in deep regression hunting, better to be on the safe
side and revert it entirely.

My guess on why this is a regression is that using the
negated evaluation of previous ply in case of null search
fails to take in account the king safety asymmetry between
the two colors. This is of course just a guess.

bench 5503830
src/search.cpp