Remove Condition For Passed Pawns
authorMiguel Lahoz <miguel_lahoz@protonmail.com>
Thu, 9 Aug 2018 14:04:36 +0000 (22:04 +0800)
committerSt├ęphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Fri, 10 Aug 2018 04:16:29 +0000 (06:16 +0200)
commitf1088c98228ff5b992d6cdadfc678d36bf44f41b
tree0e8f113e32edfb333c933b89ce985779cf3689fb
parent198418ee67895817f2fad63f4935540e17cd7117
Remove Condition For Passed Pawns

Currently, we do not consider pawns passed if there is another pawn of
the same color in front of them. It appears that this condition is not
necessary. The idea is that the doubled pawns are likely to be weak and
one of them will be likely captured anyway. On the other hand, if we do
somehow manage to promote a pawn, then the pawn behind it becomes passed
as well. In any case, the end result is we end up with an extra
potentially passed pawn. The current evaluation for passed pawns already
handles this case by also scaling down this effect.

STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 28291 W: 6287 L: 6178 D: 15826
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b6c4b960ebc5902bdb9f256

LTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 30717 W: 5256 L: 5151 D: 20310
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b6c82980ebc5902bdb9f863

Bench: 4938285
src/pawns.cpp