Simplify Pv nodes related logic in LMR
authorMichael Chaly <Vizvezdenec@gmail.com>
Sun, 14 Nov 2021 18:35:00 +0000 (21:35 +0300)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Mon, 15 Nov 2021 17:20:10 +0000 (18:20 +0100)
commitf5df517145890ecee3d855e98470241b68645b87
treea005b8b9615936c14721c45d48bc13aa37aead0f
parent9048ac00db12a9ac48bff9b9eb145b30ff88d984
Simplify Pv nodes related logic in LMR

Instead of having 2 separate conditions for Pv nodes reductions we can actually write them together. Despite it's not being strictly logically the same bench actually doesn't change up to depth 20, so them interacting is really rare and thus it's just a removal of extra PvNode check most of the time.

passed STC:
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/618ce27cd7a085ad008ef4e9
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) <-2.25,0.25>
Total: 37488 W: 9424 L: 9279 D: 18785
Ptnml(0-2): 90, 3903, 10634, 4006, 111

passed LTC:
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/618d2585d7a085ad008ef527
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) <-2.25,0.25>
Total: 49968 W: 12449 L: 12331 D: 25188
Ptnml(0-2): 27, 4745, 15309, 4889, 14

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3792

Bench: 6339548
src/search.cpp