Simplify futility margins formula
authorChris Caino <chricainogithub@gmail.com>
Tue, 22 Oct 2013 21:05:15 +0000 (23:05 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Tue, 22 Oct 2013 21:06:06 +0000 (23:06 +0200)
commitfbfce2132aff3e8528086fb14ae3fb8ef47c212e
tree81b46e5781069a6ce1a7d197a624e1f112147b7c
parent2c825294ecbc7c959af9bc05300efd137d9ec7c6
Simplify futility margins formula

New formula mathces the old formula until d = 45

Test code:

int main() {

  for(int d=1; d<=45; d++)
  {
     int a = int(log(double(d * d) / 2) / log(2.0) + 1.001);
     int b = int(2.9 * log(double(d)));

     if (a != b) std::cout << d << std::endl;
  }

  return 0;
}

bench: 8455956
src/search.cpp