Store distinct upper and lower bound scores
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 9 Dec 2012 10:08:37 +0000 (11:08 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 9 Dec 2012 12:15:50 +0000 (13:15 +0100)
commitfeeafb0a50556654e345a09d16529a5eb7715dc0
treed6e40edf8a347c1e9a5c236333d57a89f88b6396
parent23bdd064426c6fb5b6fd860d156c9f50bb58d0db
Store distinct upper and lower bound scores

This is more complex than what I'd like but I
was unable to split in small chunks.

Here we add 2 slots to TTEntry (valueUpper and depthUpper)
so that sizeof(TTEntry) returns to the original 16 bytes
and we can pack exactly 4 entries in a 64 bytes cache line.

Now we save an upper bound score alongside a lower (exact)
score. The idea is to increase TT cut-offs rates becuase
there is now an higher probability for a node to use TT info.

This patch is highly experimental and probably needs further
steps as is hinted by an unrealistic bench number:

bench: 2022385
src/search.cpp
src/tt.cpp
src/tt.h
src/types.h