Retire implicit malus for stonewalls
authorStefano Cardanobile <stefano.cardanobile@gmail.com>
Fri, 30 Sep 2016 18:50:42 +0000 (20:50 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 5 Oct 2016 07:32:08 +0000 (09:32 +0200)
STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 75864 W: 13466 L: 13437 D: 48961

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 99050 W: 12472 L: 12451 D: 74127

bench: 6098474

src/pawns.cpp

index 245ba0c..80f5e49 100644 (file)
@@ -37,9 +37,8 @@ namespace {
   // Backward pawn penalty by opposed flag
   const Score Backward[2] = { S(56, 33), S(41, 19) };
 
-  // Unsupported pawn penalty for pawns which are neither isolated or backward,
-  // by number of pawns it supports [less than 2 / exactly 2].
-  const Score Unsupported[2] = { S(17, 8), S(21, 12) };
+  // Unsupported pawn penalty for pawns which are neither isolated or backward
+  const Score Unsupported = S(17, 8);
 
   // Connected pawn bonus by opposed, phalanx, twice supported and rank
   Score Connected[2][2][2][RANK_NB];
@@ -163,7 +162,7 @@ namespace {
             score -= Backward[opposed];
 
         else if (!supported)
-            score -= Unsupported[more_than_one(neighbours & pawnAttacksBB[s])];
+            score -= Unsupported;
 
         if (connected)
             score += Connected[opposed][!!phalanx][more_than_one(supported)][relative_rank(Us, s)];