Do not consider discovered checks in king safety
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 15 May 2010 12:00:32 +0000 (13:00 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 16 May 2010 14:37:42 +0000 (15:37 +0100)
Does not help and it slows downs a bit because it
is not cheap to get the possible discovered checks
out of a position.

After 997 games at 1+0
Mod vs orig +153 =692 -152  +0 ELO

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/evaluate.cpp

index fe28da3f0692ad0253d29f61eea4a70311eeffa7..e44bcdcc64aa942f0bb6206f87dad3543f809631 100644 (file)
@@ -761,12 +761,6 @@ namespace {
         if (b)
             attackUnits += KnightCheckBonus * count_1s_max_15<HasPopCnt>(b);
 
         if (b)
             attackUnits += KnightCheckBonus * count_1s_max_15<HasPopCnt>(b);
 
-        // Analyse enemy's discovered checks (only for non-pawns right now,
-        // consider adding pawns later).
-        b = pos.discovered_check_candidates(Them) & ~pos.pieces(PAWN);
-        if (b)
-            attackUnits += DiscoveredCheckBonus * count_1s_max_15<HasPopCnt>(b) * (sente ? 2 : 1);
-
         // To index KingDangerTable[] attackUnits must be in [0, 99] range
         attackUnits = Min(99, Max(0, attackUnits));
 
         // To index KingDangerTable[] attackUnits must be in [0, 99] range
         attackUnits = Min(99, Max(0, attackUnits));