Code style in search.cpp
authorprotonspring <mike@whiteley.org>
Fri, 2 Nov 2018 16:49:51 +0000 (10:49 -0600)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Mon, 19 Nov 2018 09:16:07 +0000 (10:16 +0100)
It does not appear to be not necessary or advantageous to
conditionally initialize kingRing[Us] or kingAttackersCount[Them],
so the 'else' can be removed.

STC
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 22873 W: 4923 L: 4804 D: 13146
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5be9a8270ebc595e0ae33c7e

No functional change

src/evaluate.cpp

index 613f892..297d8c6 100644 (file)
@@ -257,6 +257,7 @@ namespace {
     attackedBy[Us][PAWN] = pe->pawn_attacks(Us);
     attackedBy[Us][ALL_PIECES] = attackedBy[Us][KING] | attackedBy[Us][PAWN];
     attackedBy2[Us]            = attackedBy[Us][KING] & attackedBy[Us][PAWN];
+    kingRing[Us] = kingAttackersCount[Them] = 0;
 
     // Init our king safety tables only if we are going to use them
     if (pos.non_pawn_material(Them) >= RookValueMg + KnightValueMg)
@@ -274,8 +275,6 @@ namespace {
         kingAttackersCount[Them] = popcount(kingRing[Us] & pe->pawn_attacks(Them));
         kingAttacksCount[Them] = kingAttackersWeight[Them] = 0;
     }
-    else
-        kingRing[Us] = kingAttackersCount[Them] = 0;
   }