Revert TT replacement strategy changes (#380)
authormstembera <MissingEmail@email>
Sat, 8 Aug 2015 10:06:32 +0000 (03:06 -0700)
committerJoona Kiiski <joona.kiiski@gmail.com>
Sat, 8 Aug 2015 16:49:53 +0000 (17:49 +0100)
It could cause problems with high depths and long time controls

Bench: 8626315

Resolves #390

src/tt.cpp

index 5ebd10d2d6cdfa7657c3d967716e03f8b848961f..c94dae53eb0289d4df142e2765ba7b71ff512099 100644 (file)
@@ -66,9 +66,9 @@ void TranspositionTable::clear() {
 /// TranspositionTable::probe() looks up the current position in the transposition
 /// table. It returns true and a pointer to the TTEntry if the position is found.
 /// Otherwise, it returns false and a pointer to an empty or least valuable TTEntry
-/// to be replaced later. TTEntry t1 is considered more valuable than TTEntry t2 if
-/// both are from the current search and the depth of t1 is greater than the depth of t2,
-/// or if t1 is from a previous search but its depth is at least 8 ply deeper than t2.
+/// to be replaced later. A TTEntry t1 is considered to be more valuable than a
+/// TTEntry t2 if t1 is from the current search and t2 is from a previous search,
+/// or if the depth of t1 is bigger than the depth of t2.
 
 TTEntry* TranspositionTable::probe(const Key key, bool& found) const {
 
@@ -87,8 +87,9 @@ TTEntry* TranspositionTable::probe(const Key key, bool& found) const {
   // Find an entry to be replaced according to the replacement strategy
   TTEntry* replace = tte;
   for (int i = 1; i < ClusterSize; ++i)
-      if (  ((  tte[i].genBound8 & 0xFC) == generation8) * 8 * ONE_PLY +   tte[i].depth8
-          < ((replace->genBound8 & 0xFC) == generation8) * 8 * ONE_PLY + replace->depth8)
+      if (  ((  tte[i].genBound8 & 0xFC) == generation8)
+          - ((replace->genBound8 & 0xFC) == generation8)
+          - (tte[i].depth8 < replace->depth8) < 0)
           replace = &tte[i];
 
   return found = false, replace;