Correctly set mateThreat in search()
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 18 Jul 2009 10:28:09 +0000 (11:28 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 20 Jul 2009 07:05:48 +0000 (08:05 +0100)
We do not accept null search returned mate values,
but we always do a full search in those cases.

So the variable mateThreat that is set only if null move
search returns a mate value is always false.

Restore the functionality of mateThreat moving the
assignement where it can be triggered.

After 999 games at 1+0

Mod vs Orig +253 =517 -229 51.20%  +8 ELO

Bug reported by xiaozhi

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp

index de34314..75b6bd0 100644 (file)
@@ -1251,6 +1251,9 @@ namespace {
 
         if (value_is_mate(nullValue))
         {
+            if (nullValue == value_mated_in(ply + 2))
+                mateThreat = true;
+
             /* Do not return unproven mates */
         }
         else if (nullValue >= beta)
@@ -1269,9 +1272,6 @@ namespace {
             // move which was reduced. If a connection is found, return a fail
             // low score (which will cause the reduced move to fail high in the
             // parent node, which will trigger a re-search with full depth).
-            if (nullValue == value_mated_in(ply + 2))
-                mateThreat = true;
-
             ss[ply].threatMove = ss[ply + 1].currentMove;
             if (   depth < ThreatDepth
                 && ss[ply - 1].reduction