Queen vs. 3 pieces imbalance
authorJoerg Oster <osterj165@googlemail.com>
Thu, 3 Apr 2014 08:38:11 +0000 (10:38 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Thu, 3 Apr 2014 08:42:06 +0000 (10:42 +0200)
Passed both STC
LLR: 7.32 (-2.94,2.94) [-1.50,4.50]
Total: 98108 W: 18087 L: 17576 D: 62445

And LTC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,6.00]
Total: 15082 W: 2417 L: 2248 D: 10417

bench: 7717336

src/material.cpp

index 0fe132d4a6fba23844ac346f15cb7b2e77cb3a6a..9e46d05d4e74ffc237cc081458e628ffef9ba265 100644 (file)
@@ -115,6 +115,17 @@ namespace {
 
         value += pc * v;
     }
+
+    // Queen vs. 3 minors slightly favours the minors
+    if (pieceCount[Us][QUEEN] == 1 && pieceCount[Them][QUEEN] == 0)
+    {
+        int n = pieceCount[Them][KNIGHT] - pieceCount[Us][KNIGHT];
+        int b = pieceCount[Them][BISHOP] - pieceCount[Us][BISHOP];
+
+        if ((n == 2 && b == 1) || (n == 1 && b == 2))
+            value -= 66 * 16;
+    }
+
     return value;
   }