Fix description of TT entry
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 14 Jun 2013 06:20:13 +0000 (08:20 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 14 Jun 2013 06:21:02 +0000 (08:21 +0200)
It was way outdated and wrong !

No functional change.

src/tt.h

index 1caa277e821ac0463110fe0df6487b74f7e20f79..5f34957c95e5e4414ecc8e7490f9ed249815ef53 100644 (file)
--- a/src/tt.h
+++ b/src/tt.h
 #include "misc.h"
 #include "types.h"
 
-/// The TTEntry is the class of transposition table entries
+/// The TTEntry is the 128 bit transposition table entry, defined as below:
 ///
-/// A TTEntry needs 128 bits to be stored
-///
-/// bit  0-31: key
-/// bit 32-63: data
-/// bit 64-79: value
-/// bit 80-95: depth
-/// bit 96-111: static value
-/// bit 112-127: margin of static value
-///
-/// the 32 bits of the data field are so defined
-///
-/// bit  0-15: move
-/// bit 16-20: not used
-/// bit 21-22: value type
-/// bit 23-31: generation
+/// key: 32 bit
+/// move: 16 bit
+/// bound type: 8 bit
+/// generation: 8 bit
+/// value: 16 bit
+/// depth: 16 bit
+/// static value: 16 bit
+/// static margin: 16 bit
 
 class TTEntry {