Streamlline reduction based on movecount
authorVoyagerOne <excelgeek@gmail.com>
Mon, 4 Sep 2017 20:27:22 +0000 (16:27 -0400)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Tue, 5 Sep 2017 09:03:50 +0000 (11:03 +0200)
Use MoveCount History only at quiet moves and simply reduce
reduction by one depth instead of increasing moveCount in formula.

STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 27511 W: 5171 L: 4919 D: 17421

LTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 92337 W: 12135 L: 11748 D: 68454

Bench: 6351176

src/search.cpp

index 7873e7d..b68c8b7 100644 (file)
@@ -947,13 +947,16 @@ moves_loop: // When in check search starts from here
           &&  moveCount > 1
           && (!captureOrPromotion || moveCountPruning))
       {
-          int mch = std::max(1, moveCount - (ss-1)->moveCount / 16);
-          Depth r = reduction<PvNode>(improving, depth, mch);
+          Depth r = reduction<PvNode>(improving, depth, moveCount);
 
           if (captureOrPromotion)
               r -= r ? ONE_PLY : DEPTH_ZERO;
           else
           {
+              // Decrease reduction if opponent's move count is high
+              if ((ss-1)->moveCount > 15)
+                  r -= ONE_PLY;
+
               // Increase reduction if ttMove is a capture
               if (ttCapture)
                   r += ONE_PLY;