Give penalty for all early quiets of prev. ply
authorJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Tue, 9 Apr 2019 14:51:39 +0000 (16:51 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 13 Apr 2019 15:15:15 +0000 (17:15 +0200)
passed STC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 32884 W: 7283 L: 7184 D: 18417
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5cacb1b20ebc5925cf00ce97

passed LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 22869 W: 3920 L: 3803 D: 15146
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5cacbd760ebc5925cf00cfce

Bench: 3723099

src/search.cpp

index 645b1f9cb0b80b6395717733e6b9b978a2565af0..cb6c5d44ebbcf18d2557b283a69be5cf6f820642 100644 (file)
@@ -623,9 +623,8 @@ namespace {
                 if (!pos.capture_or_promotion(ttMove))
                     update_quiet_stats(pos, ss, ttMove, nullptr, 0, stat_bonus(depth));
 
-                // Extra penalty for a quiet TT or main killer move in previous ply when it gets refuted
-                if (    ((ss-1)->moveCount == 1 || (ss-1)->currentMove == (ss-1)->killers[0])
-                     && !pos.captured_piece())
+                // Extra penalty for early quiet moves of the previous ply
+                if ((ss-1)->moveCount <= 2 && !pos.captured_piece())
                         update_continuation_histories(ss-1, pos.piece_on(prevSq), prevSq, -stat_bonus(depth + ONE_PLY));
             }
             // Penalty for a quiet ttMove that fails low