Reorder evaluation start
authorStefano Cardanobile <stefano.cardanobile@gmail.com>
Sat, 10 Sep 2016 15:23:26 +0000 (17:23 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 11 Sep 2016 05:42:12 +0000 (07:42 +0200)
In evaluate, we start by initializing the pos.psq_score
and adding the material imbalance. After that, we check
whether a specialized eval exists and if yes we return
that value and discard whatever we have computed until now.

It sounds more logical to first probe material entry and
return if we have a specialized eval, and only if it is
not the case initialize eval with some values. There is
no measurable speed-difference on my computer.

Non functional change.

src/evaluate.cpp

index 35764b7..5e4f4bd 100644 (file)
@@ -779,23 +779,22 @@ Value Eval::evaluate(const Position& pos) {
 
   assert(!pos.checkers());
 
+  Score mobility[COLOR_NB] = { SCORE_ZERO, SCORE_ZERO };
   EvalInfo ei;
-  Score score, mobility[COLOR_NB] = { SCORE_ZERO, SCORE_ZERO };
-
-  // Initialize score by reading the incrementally updated scores included in
-  // the position object (material + piece square tables). Score is computed
-  // internally from the white point of view.
-  score = pos.psq_score();
 
   // Probe the material hash table
   ei.me = Material::probe(pos);
-  score += ei.me->imbalance();
 
   // If we have a specialized evaluation function for the current material
   // configuration, call it and return.
   if (ei.me->specialized_eval_exists())
       return ei.me->evaluate(pos);
 
+  // Initialize score by reading the incrementally updated scores included in
+  // the position object (material + piece square tables) and the material
+  // imbalance. Score is computed internally from the white point of view.
+  Score score = pos.psq_score() + ei.me->imbalance();
+
   // Probe the pawn hash table
   ei.pi = Pawns::probe(pos);
   score += ei.pi->pawns_score();