Retire rook contact checks
authorJonathan Calovski <jonoface@live.com.au>
Wed, 7 Oct 2015 08:48:54 +0000 (19:48 +1100)
committerJoona Kiiski <joona@zoox.com>
Wed, 7 Oct 2015 18:43:20 +0000 (19:43 +0100)
STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 34114 W: 6363 L: 6265 D: 21486

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 61776 W: 9349 L: 9289 D: 43138

LTC (after rebasing):
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 15261 W: 2343 L: 2214 D: 10704

Bench: 7523382

Resolves #442

src/evaluate.cpp

index 8fd405d0036fe9e41c7632b2fa108bdf77a8db25..0554f490227b51e4b60ddacb1cee315bf03c174c 100644 (file)
@@ -220,9 +220,8 @@ namespace {
 
   // Penalties for enemy's safe checks
   const int QueenContactCheck = 89;
-  const int RookContactCheck  = 71;
   const int QueenCheck        = 50;
-  const int RookCheck         = 37;
+  const int RookCheck         = 45;
   const int BishopCheck       = 6;
   const int KnightCheck       = 14;
 
@@ -421,23 +420,6 @@ namespace {
                 attackUnits += QueenContactCheck * popcount<Max15>(b);
         }
 
-        // Analyse the enemy's safe rook contact checks. Firstly, find the
-        // undefended squares around the king reachable by the enemy rooks...
-        b = undefended & ei.attackedBy[Them][ROOK] & ~pos.pieces(Them);
-
-        // Consider only squares where the enemy's rook gives check
-        b &= PseudoAttacks[ROOK][ksq];
-
-        if (b)
-        {
-            // ...and then remove squares not supported by another enemy piece
-            b &= (  ei.attackedBy[Them][PAWN]   | ei.attackedBy[Them][KNIGHT]
-                  | ei.attackedBy[Them][BISHOP]);
-
-            if (b)
-                attackUnits += RookContactCheck * popcount<Max15>(b);
-        }
-
         // Analyse the enemy's safe distance checks for sliders and knights
         safe = ~(ei.attackedBy[Us][ALL_PIECES] | pos.pieces(Them));