Update makefile to use PGO with Intel C++ v11.0
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 4 May 2009 09:38:08 +0000 (11:38 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 4 May 2009 09:58:26 +0000 (11:58 +0200)
Update profiler guided optimization instructions in
Makefile to the latest Intel C++ compiler.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/Makefile

index 335c6d8..f36de8d 100644 (file)
@@ -91,15 +91,15 @@ CXXFLAGS += -wd383,869,981
 # CXXFLAGS += -mdynamic-no-pic -no-prec-div -ipo -static -xP
 
 
-# Profiler guided optimization with the Intel C++ compiler To use it, first
+# Profiler guided optimization with the Intel C++ compiler v11. To use it, first
 # create the directory ./profdata if it does not already exist, and delete its
 # contents if it does exist.  Then compile with -prof_gen, and run the
 # resulting binary for a while (for instance, do ./stockfish bench 128 1, and
 # wait 15 minutes for the benchmark to complete).  Then do a 'make clean', and
 # recompile with -prof_use.
 
-# CXXFLAGS += -prof_gen -prof_dir profdata
-# CXXFLAGS += -prof_use -prof_dir ./profdata
+# CXXFLAGS += -prof-gen -prof-dir./profdata
+# CXXFLAGS += -prof-use -ipo -prof_dir./profdata
 
 
 # Profiler guided optimization with GCC.  I've never been able to make this