Remove late irreversible move extension
authorUnaiCorzo <corzounai@gmail.com>
Sat, 25 Jul 2020 20:30:05 +0000 (22:30 +0200)
committerSt├ęphane Nicolet <Stephane.Nicolet@u-paris2.fr>
Fri, 31 Jul 2020 07:55:56 +0000 (09:55 +0200)
We simplify away the late irreversible move extension, which
does not seem to be necessary in the current master.

STC
LLR: 2.93 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.50,0.50}
Total: 38584 W: 7464 L: 7342 D: 23778
Ptnml(0-2): 581, 4328, 9365, 4424, 594
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f1c9669c09435d870cb9de9

LTC
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {-1.50,0.50}
Total: 27840 W: 3417 L: 3353 D: 21070
Ptnml(0-2): 120, 2315, 8994, 2363, 128
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5f1d2e22c09435d870cb9e21

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2836

bench: 4829420

src/search.cpp

index 17ccab9251abb052a12c7e1b6a41ef8db75f5e4f..6ec4d80322372332e10f909a5c574dbf6be5f3d9 100644 (file)
@@ -1067,7 +1067,7 @@ moves_loop: // When in check, search starts from here
       // search of (alpha-s, beta-s), and just one fails high on (alpha, beta),
       // then that move is singular and should be extended. To verify this we do
       // a reduced search on all the other moves but the ttMove and if the
-      // result is lower than ttValue minus a margin then we will extend the ttMove.
+      // result is lower than ttValue minus a margin, then we will extend the ttMove.
       if (    depth >= 6
           &&  move == ttMove
           && !rootNode
@@ -1131,12 +1131,6 @@ moves_loop: // When in check, search starts from here
       if (type_of(move) == CASTLING)
           extension = 1;
 
-      // Late irreversible move extension
-      if (   move == ttMove
-          && pos.rule50_count() > 80
-          && (captureOrPromotion || type_of(movedPiece) == PAWN))
-          extension = 2;
-
       // Add extension to new depth
       newDepth += extension;