Simplify check extensions
authorElbertoOne <lubvdberg@gmail.com>
Tue, 2 Oct 2018 07:07:29 +0000 (09:07 +0200)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sun, 14 Oct 2018 18:40:57 +0000 (20:40 +0200)
Remove the !moveCountPruning condition for check extensions, which seems not necessary.

STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 22238 W: 4835 L: 4715 D: 12688
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5bb3241a0ebc592439f6d2ac

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 36593 W: 5898 L: 5802 D: 24893
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5bb34c220ebc592439f6d5dc

Bench: 4274207

src/search.cpp

index 7dc6748..c78a71a 100644 (file)
@@ -933,7 +933,6 @@ moves_loop: // When in check, search starts from here
               extension = ONE_PLY;
       }
       else if (    givesCheck // Check extension (~2 Elo)
-               && !moveCountPruning
                &&  pos.see_ge(move))
           extension = ONE_PLY;