Avoid more expensive legality check
authorbmc4 <bmc4@cin.ufpe.br>
Sat, 16 Jan 2021 04:44:11 +0000 (01:44 -0300)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sun, 31 Jan 2021 09:00:17 +0000 (10:00 +0100)
speedup of the code, enough to pass STC, failed LTC.

Passed STC:
LLR: 2.93 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.25,1.25}
Total: 68928 W: 6334 L: 6122 D: 56472
Ptnml(0-2): 233, 4701, 24369, 4943, 218
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/6002747f6019e097de3ef8dc

Failed LTC:
LLR: -2.96 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.25}
Total: 44560 W: 1702 L: 1675 D: 41183
Ptnml(0-2): 25, 1383, 19438, 1408, 26
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/6002a4836019e097de3ef8e3

About 1% speedup:

Result of  50 runs
==================
base (...kfish.master) =    2237500  +/- 7428
test (...ckfish.patch) =    2267003  +/- 7017
diff                   =     +29503  +/- 4774

speedup        = +0.0132
P(speedup > 0) =  1.0000

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3304

No functional change.

src/position.cpp

index 6a5d09ee385893cbba4bec95a66def5bc5cb15a1..ad1865f037fb64d33428a26444c5f47c18916280 100644 (file)
@@ -564,8 +564,10 @@ bool Position::pseudo_legal(const Move m) const {
   Piece pc = moved_piece(m);
 
   // Use a slower but simpler function for uncommon cases
+  // yet we skip the legality check of MoveList<LEGAL>().
   if (type_of(m) != NORMAL)
-      return MoveList<LEGAL>(*this).contains(m);
+      return checkers() ? MoveList<    EVASIONS>(*this).contains(m)
+                        : MoveList<NON_EVASIONS>(*this).contains(m);
 
   // Is not a promotion, so promotion piece must be empty
   if (promotion_type(m) - KNIGHT != NO_PIECE_TYPE)