Remove useless bestValue = alpha assignement
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 15 Jun 2011 11:31:27 +0000 (12:31 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 15 Jun 2011 11:49:59 +0000 (12:49 +0100)
It is a fossil from the root_search() era, no more
needed today.

Spotted by Onno

No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp

index 50dfcc0ced1dc210acb6bf8cb23ffe9c7e6458e7..cd8a9e461083a63fd21531fb88cf6944f67db09b 100644 (file)
@@ -591,8 +591,6 @@ namespace {
             if (StopRequest)
                 break;
 
-            assert(value >= alpha);
-
             // In case of failing high/low increase aspiration window and research,
             // otherwise exit the fail high/low loop.
             if (value >= beta)
@@ -747,8 +745,6 @@ namespace {
         threatMove = sp->threatMove;
         goto split_point_start;
     }
-    else if (RootNode)
-        bestValue = alpha;
 
     // Step 1. Initialize node and poll. Polling can abort search
     ss->currentMove = ss->bestMove = threatMove = (ss+1)->excludedMove = MOVE_NONE;