Loosened trigger condition for king safety
authorRalph Stößer <ralph.stoesser@ralph_stoesser.(none)>
Sun, 22 Dec 2013 11:00:09 +0000 (12:00 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 23 Dec 2013 19:55:30 +0000 (20:55 +0100)
Reduce eval discontinuity becuase now we kick in
king safety evaluation in many more cases.

Passed both short TC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-1.50,4.50]
Total: 8708 W: 1742 L: 1613 D: 5353

And long TC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,6.00]
Total: 6743 W: 1122 L: 990 D: 4631

bench: 6835416

src/evaluate.cpp

index 72c23f1..d3190bf 100644 (file)
@@ -640,8 +640,7 @@ Value do_evaluate(const Position& pos) {
     Score score = ei.pi->king_safety<Us>(pos, ksq);
 
     // Main king safety evaluation
-    if (   ei.kingAttackersCount[Them] >= 2
-        && ei.kingAdjacentZoneAttacksCount[Them])
+    if (ei.kingAttackersCount[Them])
     {
         // Find the attacked squares around the king which have no defenders
         // apart from the king itself