Remove lmrDepth restriction on quiet see pruning
authorDU-jdto <jadto@outlook.com>
Wed, 13 Jun 2018 05:22:52 +0000 (15:22 +1000)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Wed, 13 Jun 2018 19:52:53 +0000 (21:52 +0200)
And tweak the threshold value. With this threshold and the current piece
values, this permits see pruning on quiets to be done up to an lmrDepth
of 9 (beyond that the threshold is below -QueenValueMg and see_ge will
pass unconditionally).

STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 110316 W: 24612 L: 24667 D: 61037
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b20aa760ebc5902ab9c9c1d

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 17352 W: 2968 L: 2842 D: 11542
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5b20cf1e0ebc5902ab9c9fb6

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/1651

Bench: 5069074

src/search.cpp

index c678cd5..fb5dfd0 100644 (file)
@@ -947,8 +947,7 @@ moves_loop: // When in check, search starts from here
                   continue;
 
               // Prune moves with negative SEE (~10 Elo)
-              if (   lmrDepth < 8
-                  && !pos.see_ge(move, Value(-35 * lmrDepth * lmrDepth)))
+              if (!pos.see_ge(move, Value(-29 * lmrDepth * lmrDepth)))
                   continue;
           }
           else if (   !extension // (~20 Elo)