Revert "Halve king eval margin"
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 24 Jul 2013 05:43:40 +0000 (07:43 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 24 Jul 2013 05:46:25 +0000 (07:46 +0200)
This reverts commit 4b3a0fdab03a7529ede42891963d3036712a0bd5.

As Gary says: " It failed when I tried it at long TC previously, and only
barely passed this time.  Some anecdotal evidence is that it hurts vs other
engines as well (the Lightspeed rating list showed a 16 elo drop from previous
best version - still +- 5 error bars on both, but that's still significant)"

I also agree that if we have some doubts (like in this case) it is better to
be safe than sorry.

bench: 4615572

src/evaluate.cpp

index b63615a95ce439094835e8631128b699953e5188..3f01d56457c2fd8c5e026e8d75bc5e5421e9a951 100644 (file)
@@ -767,7 +767,7 @@ Value do_evaluate(const Position& pos, Value& margin) {
         // be very big, and so capturing a single attacking piece can therefore
         // result in a score change far bigger than the value of the captured piece.
         score -= KingDanger[Us == Search::RootColor][attackUnits];
-        margins[Us] += mg_value(KingDanger[Us == Search::RootColor][attackUnits]) / 2;
+        margins[Us] += mg_value(KingDanger[Us == Search::RootColor][attackUnits]);
     }
 
     if (Trace)