Add KBPKP endgame
authorGary Linscott <glinscott@gmail.com>
Sun, 3 Feb 2013 20:42:51 +0000 (15:42 -0500)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Thu, 7 Feb 2013 05:51:55 +0000 (06:51 +0100)
It is a draw if pawns are on G or B files, weaker pawn is
on rank 7 and bishop can't attack the pawn.

No functional change (because it is very rare and does not appear in bench)

src/endgame.cpp

index d60ce3967773d4a4811702a5c77a291527a56199..ae29a71aba07d0faa77847e7045a31f1ef92b58c 100644 (file)
@@ -471,6 +471,29 @@ ScaleFactor Endgame<KBPsK>::operator()(const Position& pos) const {
               return SCALE_FACTOR_DRAW;
       }
   }
+
+  // All pawns on same B or G file? Then potential draw
+  if (    (pawnFile == FILE_B || pawnFile == FILE_G)
+      && !(pos.pieces(PAWN) & ~file_bb(pawnFile))
+      && pos.non_pawn_material(weakerSide) == 0
+      && pos.piece_count(weakerSide, PAWN) >= 1)
+  {
+      // Get weaker pawn closest to opponent's queening square
+      Bitboard wkPawns = pos.pieces(weakerSide, PAWN);
+      Square weakerPawnSq = strongerSide == WHITE ? msb(wkPawns) : lsb(wkPawns);
+
+      Square strongerKingSq = pos.king_square(strongerSide);
+      Square weakerKingSq = pos.king_square(weakerSide);
+      Square bishopSq = pos.piece_list(strongerSide, BISHOP)[0];
+
+      // Draw if weaker pawn is on rank 7, bishop can't attack the pawn, and
+      // weaker king can stop opposing opponent's king from penetrating.
+      if (   relative_rank(strongerSide, weakerPawnSq) == RANK_7
+          && opposite_colors(bishopSq, weakerPawnSq)
+          && square_distance(weakerPawnSq, weakerKingSq) <= square_distance(weakerPawnSq, strongerKingSq))
+          return SCALE_FACTOR_DRAW;
+  }
+
   return SCALE_FACTOR_NONE;
 }