Perft counts leaf nodes not generated moves.
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 27 Apr 2011 22:20:42 +0000 (23:20 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 27 Apr 2011 22:21:46 +0000 (23:21 +0100)
No functional change.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp
src/uci.cpp

index eb7666afd5142b85c624fabaeeba71b7dce04b77..1ae6b892c8d4d245b18f4fb9d730c799a8d01d4a 100644 (file)
@@ -318,8 +318,8 @@ void init_search() {
 }
 
 
-/// perft() is our utility to verify move generation. All the legal moves up to
-/// given depth are generated and counted and the sum returned.
+/// perft() is our utility to verify move generation. All the leaf nodes up to
+/// the given depth are generated and counted and the sum returned.
 
 int64_t perft(Position& pos, Depth depth) {
 
index 39270c6ff93697b1ff3206f4022637be613fecad..2dacd1c2f37b3b9a18a66c1d340d041342f4bb31 100644 (file)
@@ -224,7 +224,7 @@ namespace {
 
   // perft() is called when engine receives the "perft" command.
   // The function calls perft() passing the required search depth
-  // then prints counted nodes and elapsed time.
+  // then prints counted leaf nodes and elapsed time.
 
   void perft(Position& pos, UCIParser& up) {