Swap mg and eg in internal representation of Score
authorSt├ęphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Fri, 16 Sep 2016 16:18:53 +0000 (18:18 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 17 Sep 2016 07:56:36 +0000 (09:56 +0200)
Instrumentation shows that in make_score(mg, eg) calls, the mg value is
zero in 25,9% of the calls while the eg value is zero in 36,8% of the
calls.

Swapping the internal fields of mg and eg in the internal
representation of Score allows the compiler to optimize away the shift
in (eg << 16) + mg in more cases, thus resulting in a 0.3% speed-up
overall.

No functional change

src/types.h

index 3aafb5c..e5a7035 100644 (file)
@@ -265,22 +265,22 @@ enum Rank {
 enum Score : int { SCORE_ZERO };
 
 inline Score make_score(int mg, int eg) {
-  return Score((mg << 16) + eg);
+  return Score((eg << 16) + mg);
 }
 
 /// Extracting the signed lower and upper 16 bits is not so trivial because
 /// according to the standard a simple cast to short is implementation defined
 /// and so is a right shift of a signed integer.
-inline Value mg_value(Score s) {
+inline Value eg_value(Score s) {
 
-  union { uint16_t u; int16_t s; } mg = { uint16_t(unsigned(s + 0x8000) >> 16) };
-  return Value(mg.s);
+  union { uint16_t u; int16_t s; } eg = { uint16_t(unsigned(s + 0x8000) >> 16) };
+  return Value(eg.s);
 }
 
-inline Value eg_value(Score s) {
+inline Value mg_value(Score s) {
 
-  union { uint16_t u; int16_t s; } eg = { uint16_t(unsigned(s)) };
-  return Value(eg.s);
+  union { uint16_t u; int16_t s; } mg = { uint16_t(unsigned(s)) };
+  return Value(mg.s);
 }
 
 #define ENABLE_BASE_OPERATORS_ON(T)                             \