Restore LMR depth limit
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Tue, 24 Jan 2012 06:17:15 +0000 (07:17 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 27 Jan 2012 18:31:41 +0000 (19:31 +0100)
It is not clear the advantage and we don't want
to risk of introducing regressions on this
very critical parameter. So revert to old limit.

After 16003 games
Mod vs Orig 2496 - 2421 - 11086 ELO +1 (+-3)

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp

index f0bbf0fdecd013362a81f5037cb8d539e8c0495e..6f3d6df2fcfb65e690c3a585ad2100ba003c3bcd 100644 (file)
@@ -970,7 +970,7 @@ split_point_start: // At split points actual search starts from here
 
       // Step 15. Reduced depth search (LMR). If the move fails high will be
       // re-searched at full depth.
-      if (   depth > 4 * ONE_PLY
+      if (   depth > 3 * ONE_PLY
           && !isPvMove
           && !captureOrPromotion
           && !dangerous