Use null move when depth >= 2 plies
authorJoona Kiiski <joona.kiiski@gmail.com>
Tue, 20 Aug 2013 22:26:16 +0000 (23:26 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Thu, 22 Aug 2013 07:06:48 +0000 (09:06 +0200)
Passed both short TC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94)
Total: 23725 W: 5031 L: 4855 D: 13839

And long TC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94)
Total: 15730 W: 2939 L: 2754 D: 10037

bench: 4729333

src/search.cpp

index 2a7cde2b5fe848b7be3c778c263fc5d730da9a5b..9ae28d3c55870b554a5681782442dbbc3569b3c3 100644 (file)
@@ -663,7 +663,7 @@ namespace {
     // Step 8. Null move search with verification search (is omitted in PV nodes)
     if (   !PvNode
         && !ss->skipNullMove
-        &&  depth > ONE_PLY
+        &&  depth >= 2 * ONE_PLY
         &&  eval >= beta
         &&  abs(beta) < VALUE_MATE_IN_MAX_PLY
         &&  pos.non_pawn_material(pos.side_to_move()))