Make staticEval independent of the search path
authorJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Sun, 10 Dec 2017 15:46:57 +0000 (16:46 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 17 Dec 2017 08:11:55 +0000 (09:11 +0100)
Current master can yield different staticEvals depending on the path
used to reach the position. The reason for this is that the evaluation after a
null move is always computed subtracting 2 * Eval::Tempo, while this is not
the case for lazy or specialized evals. This patch always adds tempo to evals,
which doesn't affect playing strength:

LTC
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 59911 W: 7616 L: 7545 D: 44750

STC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 104947 W: 18897 L: 18919 D: 67131

Fixes issue #1335

Bench: 5208264

src/evaluate.cpp

index 47a65c592cdfb7ef3456f27e99cca109ebb5ae0d..d9c306e8891c8cf91e320aae85992829bce131b9 100644 (file)
@@ -891,7 +891,7 @@ namespace {
         Trace::add(TOTAL, score);
     }
 
-    return (pos.side_to_move() == WHITE ? v : -v) + Eval::Tempo; // Side to move point of view
+    return pos.side_to_move() == WHITE ? v : -v; // Side to move point of view
   }
 
 } // namespace
@@ -903,7 +903,7 @@ Score Eval::Contempt = SCORE_ZERO;
 
 Value Eval::evaluate(const Position& pos)
 {
-   return Evaluation<>(pos).value();
+   return Evaluation<>(pos).value() + Eval::Tempo;
 }
 
 /// trace() is like evaluate(), but instead of returning a value, it returns
@@ -914,7 +914,7 @@ std::string Eval::trace(const Position& pos) {
 
   std::memset(scores, 0, sizeof(scores));
 
-  Value v = Evaluation<TRACE>(pos).value();
+  Value v = Evaluation<TRACE>(pos).value() + Eval::Tempo;
   v = pos.side_to_move() == WHITE ? v : -v; // White's point of view
 
   std::stringstream ss;