Restore old aspiration window to 16
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Wed, 26 Mar 2014 05:39:46 +0000 (06:39 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 29 Mar 2014 07:45:40 +0000 (08:45 +0100)
Tested directly at LTC because previous long
test series on this topic shows it is TC dependant.

Tested with no-regression mode because gets rid of
an ugly and ad-hoc rule.

Test at LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 67918 W: 10590 L: 10541 D: 46787

bench: 7926803

src/search.cpp

index b0e885c6aabf35e257dd0ff5c9fd191c86d0498e..05773469c64220ca2d201c151504c5446e379f8b 100644 (file)
@@ -327,7 +327,7 @@ namespace {
             // Reset aspiration window starting size
             if (depth >= 5)
             {
-                delta = Value(depth > 23 ? 16 : 12);
+                delta = Value(16);
                 alpha = std::max(RootMoves[PVIdx].prevScore - delta,-VALUE_INFINITE);
                 beta  = std::min(RootMoves[PVIdx].prevScore + delta, VALUE_INFINITE);
             }