Adjust singular LMR for positions seen in PV
authorVizvezdenec <Vizvezdenec@gmail.com>
Tue, 17 Mar 2020 16:38:21 +0000 (19:38 +0300)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Tue, 17 Mar 2020 18:34:47 +0000 (19:34 +0100)
This patch continues work on altering search for ttPv nodes, using recent idea to alter it more in not PvNodes. Previous tweak based on this idea adjusted singularBeta - this one adjusts value of singularLMR, so they are both related to singular extension search.

passed STC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e700737e42a5c3b3ca2e659
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.50,1.50}
Total: 140608 W: 27053 L: 26659 D: 86896
Ptnml(0-2): 2425, 16337, 32439, 16625, 2478

passed LTC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5e7068eae42a5c3b3ca2e687
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.75}
Total: 79318 W: 10463 L: 10064 D: 58791
Ptnml(0-2): 567, 7416, 23359, 7685, 632

closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2588

Bench: 4952322

src/search.cpp

index a54e181a2a906e1033848d9983655a7805eb24cf..fe57806c7076198fee080a659dbd4d7161a5c46a 100644 (file)
@@ -1149,7 +1149,7 @@ moves_loop: // When in check, search starts from here
 
           // Decrease reduction if ttMove has been singularly extended (~3 Elo)
           if (singularLMR)
-              r -= 2;
+              r -= 1 + (ttPv && !PvNode);
 
           if (!captureOrPromotion)
           {