Simplify other checks #1334
authorAlain SAVARD <support@multicim.com>
Sun, 10 Dec 2017 15:13:28 +0000 (10:13 -0500)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 11 Dec 2017 14:27:44 +0000 (15:27 +0100)
commit020dd69a3512d01c7f189b1aea64fa75c7e1b7cd
tree61e68af0667053c9d93eeb06d24a8891d44323ea
parent70262f20274a50389ab8a84531a0832d17851255
Simplify other checks #1334

Simplify the other check penalty computation. Compared to current master,

a) it uses a 143 kingDanger penalty instead of S(10, 10) for the "otherCheck"
(credits to ElbertoOne for finding a suitable kingDanger range to replace the score
and to Guardian for showing this could also be a neutral change at LTC).
This makes our king safety model more consistent and simpler.

b) it might also score more than one "otherCheck" penalty for a given piece type instead of just one

c) it might score many pinned penalties instead of just one.

d) It also remove 3 conditionals and uses simpler expressions.
So it was tested as a SPRT[-3, 1]

Passed STC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a2b560b0ebc590ccbb8ba6b
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 11705 W: 2217 L: 2080 D: 7408

And LTC
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a2bfd0d0ebc590ccbb8bab0
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 26812 W: 3575 L: 3463 D: 19774

Trying to improve on b) another attempt was made to score also the
"otherchecks" for piece types which had some safe checks, but this
failed STC http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a2c79e60ebc590ccbb8badd

bench: 5149133
src/evaluate.cpp