Cache line aligned TT
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 26 Apr 2013 16:45:54 +0000 (18:45 +0200)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Fri, 26 Apr 2013 17:38:11 +0000 (19:38 +0200)
commit083fe5812485597e13943b690cc24a8f25c0d140
tree81f5a5323018842a47cc877a560f089f9bcf4584
parente508494a9985a5d54e77df694e8f160bb3346de3
Cache line aligned TT

Let TT clusters (16*4=64 bytes) to hold on a singe cache line.
This avoids the need for the double prefetch.

Original patches by Lucas and Jean-Francois that has also tested
on his AMD FX:

BIG HASHTABLE

./stockfish bench 1024 1 18 > /dev/null

Before:
1437642 nps
1426519 nps
1438493 nps

After:
1474482 nps
1476375 nps
1475877 nps

SMALL HASHTABLE

./stockfish bench 128 1 18 > /dev/null

Before:
1435207 nps
1435586 nps
1433741 nps

After:
1479143 nps
1471042 nps
1472286 nps

No functional change.
src/misc.cpp
src/tt.cpp
src/tt.h
src/types.h