Simplify Outposts #2176
authorprotonspring <mike@whiteley.org>
Mon, 3 Jun 2019 13:16:33 +0000 (07:16 -0600)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sun, 9 Jun 2019 12:24:06 +0000 (14:24 +0200)
commit09caea5cab0b6c23fea8347a740bcc00083da6ab
treeed6d96f7ff4744083c63e7621c0d6006945ae7b5
parent434b2c72a44ba255c14957f519e3993ea3d5d6bc
Simplify Outposts #2176

This is a functional simplification. This is NOT the exact version that was tested. Beyond the testing, an assignment was removed and a piece changes for consistency.

Instead of rewarding ANY square past an opponent pawn as an "outpost," only use squares that are protected by our pawn. I believe this is more consistent with what the chess world calls an "outpost."

STC
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 23540 W: 5387 L: 5269 D: 12884
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5cf51e6d0ebc5925cf08b823

LTC
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 53085 W: 9271 L: 9204 D: 34610
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5cf5279e0ebc5925cf08b992

bench 3424592
src/evaluate.cpp