Introduce DistanceFromPV
authorStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 09:13:37 +0000 (10:13 +0100)
committerJoost VandeVondele <Joost.VandeVondele@gmail.com>
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 18:45:29 +0000 (19:45 +0100)
commit0f3f5d85fb5c9f75199f27fbf7a725ff3e8bb4dc
tree038c0e41d407da49538b3ba6c44beb5a79f5301e
parent7c30091a92abddb8265e53768b32751c49642040
Introduce DistanceFromPV

We introduce a metric for each internal node in search, called DistanceFromPV.
This distance indicated how far the current node is from the principal variation.

We then use this distance to search the nodes which are close to the PV a little
deeper (up to 4 plies deeper than the PV): this improves the quality of the search
at these nodes and bring better updates for the PV during search.

STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) {-0.25,1.25}
Total: 54936 W: 5047 L: 4850 D: 45039
Ptnml(0-2): 183, 3907, 19075, 4136, 167
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/6037b88e7f517a561bc4a392

LTC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) {0.25,1.25}
Total: 49608 W: 1880 L: 1703 D: 46025
Ptnml(0-2): 22, 1514, 21555, 1691, 22
https://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/6038271b7f517a561bc4a3cb

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/3369

Bench: 5037279
src/search.cpp
src/search.h