No Tempo for draw scores given by heuristic functions
authorStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Wed, 21 Feb 2018 00:07:35 +0000 (01:07 +0100)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Tue, 27 Feb 2018 07:06:46 +0000 (08:06 +0100)
commit29bc1283841c8a935796159c6d3093ec879c246f
tree2548c023768e8ae0543437acbaf5d02b59273fe0
parentad2a0e356e395038a08324f9ff0afee7fc98b8e9
No Tempo for draw scores given by heuristic functions

The current master applies Eval::Tempo even to leaves evaluated
as draw by some of the static evaluation functions of endgame.cpp
(for instance KNN vs K or stalemates in KP vs K). This results in
some lines being reported as +0.07 or -0.07 when the terminal
position has reached such endgames (0.07 being about the value
of a tempo for Stockfish).

This patch does not apply Eval::tempo to these positions. This leads
to more nodes being evaluated as VALUE_DRAW during search, giving more
opportunities for cut-offs in alpha-beta.

STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 52602 W: 11776 L: 11403 D: 29423
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a8cb8f60ebc590297cc8546

LTC:
LLR: 2.97 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,4.00]
Total: 156613 W: 26820 L: 26158 D: 103635
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5a8f452d0ebc590297cc865a

Bench: 4924749
src/evaluate.cpp