Combine increased LMR horizont and fixed null move reduction
authorMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Mon, 13 Jul 2009 12:35:29 +0000 (13:35 +0100)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
Sat, 18 Jul 2009 05:07:58 +0000 (06:07 +0100)
commit2a203d8d6fb067461db55bcf3ade747dca9492b7
tree177f7210272cec345a29d83d073cd3834fa8780d
parentb8326edea3081e9e00bce7bb0929005f4be45cbf
Combine increased LMR horizont and fixed null move reduction

Set null move reduction to R=4, but increase the LMR horizon
to 3 plies. The two tweaks are related and should compensate
the combined effect of null move + LMR reduction at shallow
depths.

Idea from Tord.

After 999 games at 1+0

Mod vs Orig  +251 =522 -225 51.30% + 9 ELO

On Tord iMac Core 2 Duo 2.8 GHz, one thread,
Mac OS X 10.6, at 1+0 time control we have:

Mod vs Orig 994-1006  -1.4 ELO

But Orig version is pgo compiled and Mod is not.
The PGO compiled version is about 8% faster, which
corresponds to about 7 Elo points. This means that
results are reasonably consistent.

Signed-off-by: Marco Costalba <mcostalba@gmail.com>
src/search.cpp