Introduce separate counter-move tables for captures
authorVoyagerOne <excelgeek@gmail.com>
Sat, 5 Oct 2019 14:42:36 +0000 (10:42 -0400)
committerStéphane Nicolet <cassio@free.fr>
Sun, 6 Oct 2019 00:04:19 +0000 (02:04 +0200)
commit2e96c513ad6113abb6bc4fdd4962cc1f6eed3d4a
treecc4c847344813b7574c93aa3efd5f44aac00fce9
parentca7d4e9ac7b5ca74be8aa807fbdf139b2a0860ab
Introduce separate counter-move tables for captures

Enhance counter-move history table by adding a capture/no-capture dimension,
depending wether the previous move was a quiet move or a capture. This doubles
the size of the table but provides more accurate move ordering.

STC:
LLR: 2.95 (-2.94,2.94) [0.50,4.50]
Total: 79702 W: 17720 L: 17164 D: 44818
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d97945e0ebc590c21aa724b

LTC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [0.00,3.50]
Total: 29147 W: 4907 L: 4651 D: 19589
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5d97ccb90ebc590c21aa7bc0

Closes https://github.com/official-stockfish/Stockfish/pull/2344

Bench: 4131643
src/movepick.cpp
src/movepick.h
src/search.cpp
src/thread.cpp
src/thread.h