Simplify tropism. (#1807)
author31m059 <37052095+31m059@users.noreply.github.com>
Sun, 11 Nov 2018 21:14:28 +0000 (16:14 -0500)
committerMarco Costalba <mcostalba@users.noreply.github.com>
Sun, 11 Nov 2018 21:14:28 +0000 (22:14 +0100)
commit30a905c95d0b77874244c8b68ae77daba41ac545
treeb9cfc3676ca2d7ff182dbe82485d2370de61d5b1
parent05aa34e00ed78adfa943242026a00dc497acd563
Simplify tropism. (#1807)

We calculate tropism as a sum of two factors. The first is the number of squares in our kingFlank and Camp that are attacked by the enemy; the second is number of these squares that are attacked twice. Prior to this commit, we excluded squares we defended with pawns from this second value, but this appears unnecessary. (Doubly-attacked squares near our king are still dangerous.) The removal of this exclusion is a possible small Elo gain at STC (estimated +1.59) and almost exactly neutral at LTC (estimated +0.04).

STC:
LLR: 2.96 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 20942 W: 4550 L: 4427 D: 11965
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5be4e0ae0ebc595e0ae308a0

LTC:
LLR: 2.94 (-2.94,2.94) [-3.00,1.00]
Total: 56941 W: 9172 L: 9108 D: 38661
http://tests.stockfishchess.org/tests/view/5be4ec340ebc595e0ae30938

Bench: 3813986
src/evaluate.cpp